Skip to main content

Hebridean Celtic Festival Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame Public Voting 2010

Karen Matheson

The following three awards recognise performances over the past fifteen years at the festival.

The winners of Best Show in the Big Blue Marquee were Runrig for their 2005 performance, Karen Matheson (2009) won Best Show in An Lanntair, and Runrig won Best Show in the 15 Years of the Festival, again 2005.

The festival received nominations from the public as to who should be honoured for their performances at the four-day event, and in a close run voting contest, Runrig's and Karen Matheson's were deemed the most memorable.

Karen Matheson said: "I am delighted to be given this accolade from such a special festival. Some concerts over the years become a blur in the memory but the performance at An Lanntair last summer (2009) was one of those nights for myself and the band when the music, venue and atmosphere collided in a great way - so it's all the more rewarding to be voted for by the public!"

The shortlist for the nominations were:

  • Best Show in the Big Blue Marquee
  • Face the West (2009); Runrig (2005); The Chair (2009)
  • Best Show in An Lanntair, the Stornoway arts centre
  • Karen Matheson (2009); The Chair (2009); Iain Morrison (2008)
  • Best Show in the 15 Years of the Festival
  • Runrig (2005); The Chair (2009); Seth Lakeman (2008)
  • In a fourth category, Best Outreach Event, that covers the programme of gigs and performances in communities outwith Stornoway, an outright winner was the performance given by The Hunger Mountain Boys at Breasclete in 2008.


Look forward to summer and book your HebCelt 2020 tickets now.



@HebCelt on Twitter